"update banner" X out feature

Answered

Comments

3 comments

  • Official comment
    Avatar
    Connor

    Hi Meredith,

    Thanks for contacting Trint. The update banner ensures that our users are always on the most up to date version of the Trint platform. This is important because often these updates include important bug fixes, or improvements to the user interface. While it may cause some minor inconvenience, we don't plan on adding a button that allows users to delay these updates. When an update does come out, we want our users to upgrade as soon as possible.

    All the best,


    Connor


  • Avatar
    Meredith Metzler

    Hi Connor, 

    I think we might be talking about different banners. The ones I see make the update optional (e.g., click here to update now and not we'll update in a few minutes). No other software I use mandates immediate updates while I'm in the middle of working in it. Word does it's auto-update checks when I open the program. Adobe periodically sends me messages that I can clear. Apple offers to "Try again" later. 

    It would be much easier to stomach if these update messages showed up in the home screen OR if there were a way that Trint would mark where you left off in a transcript. So you could "update" then go back to where you were as soon as it updated, fine. But that's not how it works.

    Also, quickly, it's not a minor inconvenience when you're 45 minutes into a 90 minute transcript that's 60 percent accurate and taking a lot of concentration to fix. Cognitively, it takes about 15 minutes to get into a work flow. When you have to update, then go back and try to find your place again, then get re-started, it is actually a really obnoxious pain point for a user. Very sincerely, I would challenge you to give it a go. Work on a lousy, long transcript for a few hours and see how you feel when that message pops up, and you can't get rid of it. If it were "a minor inconvenience," I would not have taken the time to go all the way to the forum to make a comment.

    Thanks,

    Meredith

  • Avatar
    Connor

    Hi Meredith,

    I believe they are the same banner, the ones I'm talking about don't force users to update either. You can ignore them, but they won't go away nor is there a way to close them. This is done by design, to ensure that users are:

    1: Consistently aware that they are not using the most recent version

    and 

    2: To push users to update as soon as possible

    Actually, the updates do appear on the home screen. They will appear on whatever screen you are currently accessing when the update goes live. Chances are that most of time these updates go out, you will not be editing, which means that you will see them the next time you open the home page. In this case, you must have been in the midst of editing right when we released the update, poor timing to be sure, but don't worry....this should be a rare occurrence!

    Hopefully getting back to the right spot in your text didn't take up too much of your time. 

    All the best,


    Connor

Please sign in to leave a comment.